Getting Outdoors: Kayaking the Haulover Canal

The Florida Outdoor Writer’s Association  recently hosted their annual conference on Florida’s Space Coast and I was given the opportunity to get from behind my computer and take part in some of their outdoor excursion!  One of them was a day of kayaking at Haulover Canal in Titusville, Florida.

I know this may come as a shock considering kayaking is huge on our the Space Coast, but I’ve never done it.  Now that I have, I’m asking myself ‘what took me so long’.  Considering we’re surrounded by water, I should be kayaking every weekend!  It was beyond fun and not as taxing as I expected, since I was able to try out one of the Hobie foot paddle kayaks. Get this, no oar necessary.  There’s a little widget on the side that controls the rudder.

Here’s a snippet of me kayaking the Haulover canal.

Leave a Reply

