Astronaut Memorial Foundation to Host Ceremony to Mark 25th Anniversary of Space Shuttle Challenger Accident

The Astronauts Memorial Foundation will host a ceremony in rememberance of the 25th Anniversary of the Challenger accident and its crew, which included Commander Francis R. (Dick) Scobee, Pilot Michael J. Smith, Mission Specialists Judith A. Resnik, Ronald E. McNair and Ellison S. Onizuka, Payload Specialist Gregory B. Jarvis and Sharon Christa McAuliffe, the first teacher to fly in space. 

The ceremony will be held on January 28, 2011 at 9:00 a.m. at the Space Mirror Memorial at Kennedy Space Center Visitor ComplexSpeakers will include June Scobee Rodgers, Ph.D., widow of space shuttle Challenger Commander Francis R. (Dick) Scobee; Michael J. McCulley, Captain, USN, Ret., Chairman of the Board of Directors of The Astronauts Memorial Foundation and former space shuttle pilot; Robert D. Cabana, Colonel, USMC, Ret., Director, NASA Kennedy Space Center and former space shuttle commander; Rick Soria, 2009 Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award Winner; William H. Gerstenmaier, NASA Associate Administrator for Space Operations; and Mick Ukleja, Ph.D., member of the Board of Trustees of The Astronauts Memorial Foundation. The Astronauts Memorial Foundation’s President, Dr. Stephen Feldman, will moderate the ceremony.

The public is invited to attend the service, which is free. Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex will open doors to the park early and provide flowers for all ceremony guests and visitors throughout the morning to place at the memorial. For more information, call 877-313-2610 or visit


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s